The versioning of a protocol is crucial for a controlled protocol design workflow.

Note: A protocol starts at version 1. There are two ways to create a new version.

When are versions created?

1. Automatically, after execution of a protocol, any editing made on this protocol will create a new version

This behavior was implemented in order to always keep a "snapshot" of the protocol version tied to one or more previous experiments. Therefore, you always have access to a protocol related to a particular experiment (see Access automatic experiment reports).

2. Manually, after unlocking a protocol


For more information about this feature please refer to this article: Lock a protocol in the latest version

3. Manually, after restoring a previous protocol version

This action create a major protocol change that result in the creation of a new version.

For more information, please see this article: Restore or make a copy of a protocol version

Did this answer your question?